Skip to Main Content

Health and Social Care BTEC

BTEC Health and Social Care is the equivalent in size to one A Level over two years. There are 4 units in total. 2 of these are assessed by exams in Human Lifespan Development and Working in Health & Social Care. The other 2 units are coursework units that are internally assessed. This course provides a broad basis of study for the Health and Social Care sector and is designed to support progression into careers in this area. This qualification can be taken alongside other BTEC or A Level subjects.

Qualifications & Assessments

Exam Board Pearson
Level Level 3
Qualification Extended Certificate
Assessment Method Two exams and Non-Examination Assessment
Entry Requirements Entry Requirements

Unit 1: Human Lifespan Development

This unit will develop your knowledge and understanding of patterns of human growth and development and the factors that affect these. This unit is externally assessed through 1 exam lasting 1 hour 30 minutes.

Unit 2: Working in Health and Social Care

This unit will help students to understand what it is like to work in the health and social care sector. When working for an organisation in this sector, you will have important responsibilities that you need to understand and carry out.

These include maintaining the safety of and safeguarding individuals with health and social care needs, making sure that you properly handle their personal information and preventing discrimination towards them. This unit will be externally assessed through 1 exam lasting 1 hour and 30 minutes.

Unit 5: Meeting Individual Care & Support Needs

This unit introduces you to the values and issues that need to be considered when planning care and support that meet the needs of an individual in a health and social care environment. This unit will be internally assessed through coursework assignments.

Plus an additional coursework unit TBC

This course is generally taken alongside other qualifications which will allow progression on to a range of degree programmes within the health and social care sector. These include:

  • Nursing
  • Social Work
  • Teaching
  • Sports Studies
  • Counselling
  • Child Care
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Working with those with additional needs

This course provides skill development in: cognitive and problem-solving skills, critical thinking, intrapersonal skills, and interpersonal skills.

News & Blog

Latest From Aquinas

You can never rely on the British weather, from pouring down rain, to beautiful blue sky, our L6 successfully completed their Duke of Edinburgh Gold practice expedition. What an amazing, all be it, wet, experience they had. Their resilience shown to keep going, support each other and work as a team to finish what was […]

Photoshop of students walking up a hill

After sadly losing our dear friend and colleague Grainne last year the Art & Design department are raising money for Sarcoma UK. Those of you that knew Grainne will know, she was energetic, loved life and the great outdoors and was always up for a challenge. So today (7th June) we are hiking 3560ft to […]

Photograph of the art department travelling to Snowdonia

In February this year, Aquinas College took part in some research led by Associate Professor Tomomi Ohba from Tama University in Japan. The research was looking at foreign language education across the world and Aquinas was one of the schools approached in the UK because of our teaching of Japanese. Classes were observed in all […]

Screenshot of the Japanese university zoom call.

In January, 10 of our brightest chemistry students took part in the annual RSC Chemistry Olympiad. We would like to congratulate all students for taking part in this really tough national competition. Simply participating speaks volumes about the character of the students involved, showing their determination and resilience in the face of academic challenge, attributes […]

Photograph of students holding their certificates.